Karnali Province (कर्णाली प्रदेश) was established in 2018 (2074) as one of seven federal provinces of Nepal established by a constitution adopted on September 20, 2015. (2072 BS). Birendranagar Surkhet was designated as Karnali Pradesh’s capital city in January 2018. The name ‘Karnali Pradesh’ was declared following the election of this province’s Provincial Assembly in February 2018.

Karnali province covers a total area of 24,453 square kilometres (9,441 sq mi). This province had a population of 1,570,418 people. According to the 2011 Nepal census, the estimated population on January 1, 2016 was 1,701,800. Karnali Province is bounded to the north by the Tibet Autonomous Region of China, to the east by Gandaki Province, to the west by Sudurpashchim Province, and to the south by Province No. 5.

Speaking Karnali, we recall the “Karnali” that lingers in our vernacular and is beloved by the Karnali people. Karnali is a culture. The river is linked to the development of human civilization in large cities. A river connects us all, whether it’s Athens, Mesopotamia, or Roman civilization. Similarly, Karnali is Nepal’s oldest civilization, and it is linked to the Karnali river. Human civilization and culture are linked to the Karnali civilization. Ancestors who saw Karnali yesterday saw vehicles travelling through Kalikot, Jumla, Mugu, and Dolpa.

Karnali Province’s sole goal is development, infrastructure, and change. Karnali wishes to be a source of wealth. Karnali’s main sources of prosperity are water, land, tourism, herbs, costumes, language, and culture.

Karnali Province is a one-of-a-kind region of the country where opportunity has been created by potential. Employment has been made available. The foundation for survival is provided. Due to a lack of investment, we looked at many Karnali possibilities. In this regard, it is necessary to visit Karnali and create an environment in which people are compelled to write songs of prosperity rather than sad songs. For example, Karnali has numerous bases that could be developed as a hydropower generation area. Karnali The bases to be developed as water-powered electricity hubs are Humla flowing through Humla Karnali, Bheri flowing through Dolpa, and Tila flowing through Jumla. Similarly, if we only invest in Karnali’s tourism potential, we will not have to wait for prosperity.

The province of Karnali is divided into ten (10) districts. A district is run by the District Coordination Committee (DCC) chairman and the District Administration Officer (DAO). Municipalities (Nagarpalika) or rural municipalities are formed from the districts (Gaunpalika). This province has 25 municipalities and 54 rural municipalities.



    Please prove you are human by selecting the Plane.

    This will close in 50 seconds

    × How can I help you?