Ladakh is an Indian union territory that is part of the larger Kashmir region and has been a source of contention between India, Pakistan, and China since 1947. Ladakh is bounded to the east by the Tibet Autonomous Region, to the south by the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh, to the west by both the Indian-administered union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Pakistan-administered Gilgit-Baltistan, and to the far north by the southwest corner of Xinjiang across the Karakoram Pass. It stretches from the Karakoram range’s Siachen Glacier in the north to the main Great Himalayas in the south. The Indian government claims the eastern end, which includes the uninhabited Aksai Chin plains, as part of Ladakh.

    Please prove you are human by selecting the Heart.

    This will close in 50 seconds

    × How can I help you?